Railroad Display

One of the original signs from the Big Four depot hangs in the window. Beneath the sign a luggage rack from the depot holds an old suitcase packed for a 1940’s traveler. Photos and other items are also showcased on the luggage rack. A trunk on the floor is packed with vintage clothing items which a traveler in the early 1900’s might have taken on his/her travels. The cash register was used at the Big Four depot. It is unique in that it is equipped with a ticket dispenser. A storyboard has been created for both the Big Four and Punkin Vine f[Read more]

The Museum

The museum is open Saturdays from noon to 3 p.m. It is also open by appointment. To schedule a visit call (309) 468-8409 or send an email to empiretwspmuseum@gmail.com. Admission is free but donations are appreciated.


New Display

The Empire Township Historical Museum is located at ground level on the east side of the J.T. and E.J. Crumbaugh Library. The museum is dedicated to preserving the history of Empire Township. It boasts two large wall murals – one of early downtown LeRoy and the other of a steam engine pulling a train through the township countryside.



Winter Snow Storms

Winter Snow Storms

A popular topic in LeRoy is the weather. Our Central Illinois location has given folks plenty to talk about from extreme snow storms and freezes to flooding and tornados. The early part of the 2014-2015 weather has set records for mild temperatures and large amounts of rain. Let’s take a look at some of the… Continue Reading

P.O. Box 102, LeRoy, IL 61752 • 309-468-8409 • Legal
405 East Center Street, Le Roy, Illinois 61752 East Side of Library Ground Level

Designed by Lynn Amacher